Skip navigation.

Maine Technical College System

News Release

Mon, March 17, 2003
CONTACT: Alice Kirkpatrick
Tel: (207) 767-0116, ext. 3

AUGUSTA, Maine— Nine technical college students were named to the All-Maine Academic Team, which recognizes the academic achievements of two-year college students, at a ceremony today at the Senator Inn in Augusta. The team is sponsored in part by Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for two-year colleges.

The students selected for the team are: Matthew D. Petrie, of Fairfield; Melissa Nute, of Hermon; Tina Gagnon, of Bangor; Richard Boudreau, of South China; Chris M. Cole, of Windham; Jared Rackliff, of Portland; Erin Klentzman, of Eastport; Christopher Ike, of Old Orchard Beach; and Judy Langlais, of Sanford.

"These students represent the best of Maine and our colleges," said Jana Lapoint, chair of the Maine Technical College System Board of Trustees. "We are proud to honor them today, not only for their academic achievements, but for their extraordinary contributions to their colleges and communities," she said.

At the ceremony, each of the students received a $500 scholarship made possible by a grant from KeyBank of Maine. Kathryn Underwood, President of KeyBank of Maine, and Maine Senate President Beverly Daggett, both gave remarks recognizing the students' achievements.

The All-Maine Academic Team was introduced in 1997 as a way to recognize two-year college students who have achieved academic distinction. It is a division of the All-USA Academic Team for Community and Technical College students, an international program sponsored annually by Phi Theta Kappa, USA Today and The American Association of Community Colleges. By being named to the All-Maine Academic Team, the students are eligible for selection to the All-USA Academic Team.

The All-Maine Academic Team program is cosponsored by KeyBank of Maine, Bangor Daily News, Creative Awards of South Portland, and the Maine Technical College System.

Members of the 2003 All-Maine Academic Team

  • Matthew D. Petrie, of Fairfield, a Mechanical Engineering Technology major at Central Maine Technical College in Auburn. Achievements: Phi Theta Kappa President; Student Senate member; named to Who's Who among America's Junior Colleges; National Dean's List; high honors every semester at CMTC; high school lacrosse coach; church outreach volunteer.
  • Melissa Nute, of Hermon, a Liberal Studies major at Eastern Maine Technical College (EMTC) in Bangor. Achievements: Phi Theta Kappa Secretary; co-editor of student newspaper the Eagle Eye; awarded Certificate of Excellence award for leadership by EMTC; participated in EMTC's National Collegiate Alcohol Awareness Week.
  • Tina Gagnon, of Bangor, a Business Management major at EMTC. Achievements: Phi Theta Kappa Treasurer and fundraising chair; accounting tutor in EMTC's Academic Support Center; Student Senate Blood Drive volunteer; 2002 recipient of the Ed Gott Memorial Scholarship; recipient of a Peer Tutor Award for contributions to the Academic Support Center; President's List.
  • Richard Boudreau, of South China, an Industrial Electrical/Electronic Technology major at Kennebec Valley Technical College in Fairfield. Achievements: Dean's List; Phi Theta Kappa member; All-USA Academic Team nominee; youth hockey coach; kindergarten volunteer.
  • Chris M. Cole, of Windham, a Business and Technology Administration at Southern Maine Technical College (SMTC) in South Portland. Achievements: Phi Theta Kappa, 5 star member; PTK Service Committee Co-Chair; National Dean's List; All-USA Academic Team nominee; religious education teacher; creator of Stone Soup.
  • Jared Rackliff, of Portland, a Computer Technology major at SMTC. Achievements: Student Senate President; 2003 New Century Scholar; Governance Council; Learning Assistance Center Tutor; All-USA Academic Team nominee; Phi Theta Kappa member; National Dean's List.
  • Erin Klentzman, of Eastport, a Liberal Studies major at Washington County Technical College in Calais. Achievements: Student Senate Secretary; recipient of the Osher Scholarship for AA Students; recipient of TRIO Scholarships; TRIO Program participant; 2003 graduation committee member; Red Cross Blood Drive participant.
  • Christopher Ike, of Old Orchard Beach, a Digital Media major at York County Technical College (YCTC) in Wells. Achievements: Student Senate Vice President; 2002 YCTC Student of the Year; recipient of the John H. Lapoint Jr. Leadership Award; named to Who's Who of American Junior Colleges; Co-Chair Bras Across the Bridge breast cancer awareness event; participant in Rotoplast fundraiser; volunteer Web designer for local non-profit organizations.
  • Judy Langlais, of Sanford, a Business Administration major at YCTC. Achievements: Student Senate Secretary; Northern New England Civic Scholar; YCTC Foundation Scholarship recipient; member of Blood Drive Committee; YCTC Open House Tour Guide; volunteer for troubled teens.