Skip navigation.

Maine Technical College System

News Release

FOR RELEASE: Monday, March 18, 2002
CONTACT: Alice Kirkpatrick
Tel: (207) 767-0116, ext. 3

The ten students selected for the team are:

  • Danielle M. Palmer, of Springvale, a Graphic Arts/Printing Technology major at Central Maine Technical College (CMTC) in Auburn.
  • Daniel C. Graham, of Marlborough, New Hampshire, an Electromechanical Technology major at CMTC.
  • Kendra L. Atwood, of Solon, a Business Management major at Eastern Maine Technical College (EMTC) in Bangor.
  • Leona Lane, of Sherman Mills, a Business Management -- Office Administration Concentration major at EMTC.
  • Deborah A. Spiller, of Belgrade, an Education TechnicianóSpecial Education major at Kennebec Valley Technical College in Fairfield.
  • Scott G. St. Peter, of Cross Lake, an Electrical Construction and Maintenance major at Northern Maine Technical College (NMTC) in Presque Isle.
  • Leslie Thompson, of Wade, an Information Technology -- Office Assistant major at NMTC.
  • Eric Staples, of Warren, a Liberal Studies major at Southern Maine Technical College (SMTC) in South Portland.
  • Char M. Bouley, of East Waterboro, a Nursing major at SMTC.
  • Elisabeth Beal, of Perry, a Liberal Studies major at Washington County Technical College in Calais.

The All-Maine Academic Team is part of the national Phi Theta Kappa program—an international honor society for two-year colleges—designed to recognize academic excellence, leadership and community service among students attending two-year colleges. Students enrolled in an associate degree program at all accredited colleges from around the state were eligible for the competition.

"These ten students represent the best of Maine. We are proud to honor them and recognize their academic excellence and commitment to community service," said Jana Lapoint, Chair of Maine Technical College System. She added, "Ninety-six percent of technical college graduates stay in Maine, so I am pleased and proud to say that Maine communities will continue to benefit from these students' intelligence, generosity and commitment."

Kathryn Underwood, President of KeyBank/Maine District, and John Fitzsimmons, President of MTCS, joined Lapoint in honoring the students.

Each student received a scholarship in the amount of $500. The scholarships are made possible by a grant from KeyBank.

Each of the team members is eligible for selection to the All-USA Academic Team, which is sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa, the American Association of Community Colleges and USA Today. Students named to the All-USA Team will be featured in USA Today on April 22, 2002.

The All-Maine Academic Team program is cosponsored by KeyBank of Maine, Bangor Daily News, Creative Awards of South Portland and the Maine Technical College System.

2002 All-Maine Academic Team

  • Danielle M. Palmer, Central Maine Technical College, Auburn
    Achievements: President's Honors; National Dean's List; Student Senate treasurer; Maine Graphic Arts Advisory Committee member; resident hall council secretary; volleyball manager; Prime/Prudential Student of the Year 2000; Sanford High School Community Service Award recipient.
  • Daniel C. Graham, Central Maine Technical College, Auburn
    Achievements: Association for Manufacturing Technologies scholarship recipient; The Michael Burhert Scholarship recipient from Kingsbury Machine Tool and Automation; Maine Athletic Academic All-Star Award recipient; Captain, CMTC's Men's Basketball Team; Resident Assistant; Outing Club member.
  • Kendra L. Atwood, Eastern Maine Technical College, Bangor
    Achievements: Dean's List; Phi Theta Kappa officer; fundraising volunteer for Phi Theta Kappa; Student Senate Blood Drive volunteer; food drive volunteer for local food pantry; book collection volunteer for school libraries and United Way.
  • Leona Lane, Eastern Maine Technical College, Bangor
    Achievements: EMTC Dean's List; National Dean's List; President's List; Phi Theta Kappa member; Finance Authority of Maine Scholarship recipient; food drive volunteer; active community and school volunteer.
  • Deborah A. Spiller, Kennebec Valley Technical College, Fairfield
    Achievements: Dean's List; Phi Theta Kappa member; KVTC Head Start volunteer; peer tutor.
  • Scott G. St. Peter, Northern Maine Technical College, Presque Isle
    Achievements: Dean's List; Tri City Waters Scholarship recipient; Electrical Associates of Aroostook Scholarship recipient; President, Phi Theta Kappa; Instrumentation Systems & Automation Society's student chapter member.
  • Leslie Thompson, Northern Maine Technical College, Presque Isle
    Achievements: Deans List; Phi Theta Kappa member; President's Scholar Award recipient; Bosse Family Scholarship recipient; FAME/Maine Scholarship recipient; NMTC Scholarship Scramble volunteer; campus newsletter volunteer; student worker at NMTC; MicMac Culture Center tour participant.
  • Eric Staples, Southern Maine Technical College, South Portland
    Achievements: President's Award recipient; Phi Theta Kappa member; earned AAS degree in Culinary Arts in 2001; Academic All-Star award for basketball; SMTC Sports person of the Year Award; Guistwhite Scholar; Coach's Award, volleyball; Most Valuable Player Award, baseball; baseball, basketball and volleyball team member.
  • Char M. Bouley, Southern Maine Technical College, South Portland
    Achievements: National Dean's List; Phi Theta Kappa member; Editor Of Phi Theta Kappa chapter newsletter; scholarship committee chairperson; preceptorship at Mercy Hospital; Maine State flag bearer at Phi Theta Kappa International Convention.
  • Elisabeth Beal, Washington County Technical College, Calais
    Achievements: Phi Theta Kappa member; President's List; mentoring tutor; Student Senate representative; Polar Dip volunteer; Spring Job Fair volunteer; Christmas Banquet Committee member.