Skip navigation.

Maine Community College System--News Release

13 Semifinalists Chosen for Journey Into Writing Contest

Tuesday, April 19, 2005

CONTACT: Alice Kirkpatrick
207-767-0116 x 3
or Ellyn Chase (207) 629-4007;

AUGUSTA, Maine - Thirteen high school juniors have been named as semifinalists for the Maine Community College System's Journey Into Writing contest. The contest was announced last spring by Governor Baldacci and the panel of judges, celebrated Maine authors Stephen King, Tabitha King and Richard Russo.

The semifinalists are being announced today by the contest sponsors: the Maine Sunday Telegram and The semifinalists' work can be viewed online at 20 Below, and the contest web site at Other sponsors of the program are U.S. Cellular and Central Maine Power.

The semifinalists will now have their entries reviewed by the judges, who will select three winners as Maine's "Young Writers of the Year." Governor Baldacci will be joined by the Kings and Dr. Russo to honor the 13 semifinalists and announce the three winners at an awards luncheon on May 26, 2005. The semifinalists will each receive $100; the three winners will receive $2,500 each and be named the Governor's "Young Writers of the Year.

The semifinalists are: Lucas Delahanty of Cape Elizabeth High School for his essay, "Blueberry Hill"; Alanna Dick of Winthrop High School for her short story, "Rainy Day"; Tyler Francke of Presque Isle High School for his short story, "My Friend Jimmy"; Matthew Gleason of Freeport High School for his essay, "Out of Left Field"; Isla Hansen of Lewiston High School for her short story, "Fiddler Boy"; Kelly Hassapelis of Searsport District High School for her short story, "Nine Months in Iraq"; Bethany Ingraham of Richmond High School for her short story, "Childhood's Whisper"; Amanda Osborne of Brewer High School for her short story, "Oberonn"; Juliana Partridge of Catherine McAuley High School for her essay, "Flowered Dresses"; Matt Powers of North Yarmouth Academy for his short story, "Seaweed"; Margareta Roth of Thornton Academy for her short story, "Afterthought"; Erik Tasker of Deering High School for his short story, "Glory Fades"; and Moira Yoe of North Yarmouth Academy for her short story, "The Things Runners Carry."

The Journey Into Writing contest received 420 entries from 103 different high schools during the submission period, October 1 and December 1, 2004. Submissions came from each of Maine's 16 counties. All high school juniors and home-schooled students of comparable age were eligible to submit entries of up to 1500 words, including short stories, essays or poems. The semifinalists were selected by a review committee from the Maine Community College System.

- end -