Skip navigation.

News Advisory

MCCS Trustees to Honor "Students of the Year" Following Board Meeting in Augusta

Thursday, April 20, 2006

CONTACTS: Alice Kirkpatrick at (207) 767-0116 x 3
(207) 767-0116 x 4;

AUGUSTA, Maine – Seven Community College students will be honored for their academic and personal achievements and service to their communities at a ceremony hosted by the Maine Community College System (MCCS) Board of Trustees next week.

The 2006 "Students of the Year" Awards Ceremony will be held Wednesday, April 26th at the Senator Inn in Augusta. The event will start with a luncheon at 11:45 a.m. followed by the awards ceremony. Dennis King, Vice Chair of the MCCS Board of Trustees, will give brief remarks. MCCS President John Fitzsimmons and former Trustee Jana Lapoint will present the awards.

The 2006 award winners are: Phary Hem of Lewiston (CMCC); Dean Knowles of North Anson (EMCC); Daphne Tieman of Fairfield (KVCC); Jason Smith of Farmington (NMCC); Aimee Michaud of Brunswick (SMCC); Leroy Curtis of Calais (WCCC); and Bethany Peterson of Alfred (YCCC). The award winners were selected by college faculty and staff.

Each of the students will be awarded a John H. Lapoint, Jr. Leadership Award in the amount of $1,000. Mr. Lapoint was president of UF Strainrite in Lewiston and a trustee of the college system when he passed away in 1995. Mr. Lapoint’s widow, Jana Lapoint, served on the Board from 1995 to 2006 and helped establish the fund for the annual awards.


Prior to the awards ceremony, the Board of Trustees will hold a regularly scheduled meeting beginning at 10:45 a.m. The meeting will be held at the MCCS System Office at 323 State Street in Augusta.

At the meeting, trustees will announce two memorial scholarships, one for Dr. Patricia Ryan , who served as President of York County Community College in Wells from 2002 to 2006. The second scholarship is being established for Brian C. Thayer, a long-time trustee of the Community College System.

Trustees are also expected to vote on a tuition rate for the 2006-07 academic year.

- end -

(If special accommodations are needed to attend either event, please contact Ellyn Chase at 629-4007.)