Skip navigation.

Maine Community College System--News Advisory

Authors to Join Governor to Recognize Winners of Journey Into Writing Contest

Monday, May 19, 2005

CONTACT: Alice Kirkpatrick
Tel: (207) 767-0116, ext. 3

AUGUSTA, Maine—Celebrated authors Stephen King, Tabitha King and Richard Russo will join Governor John E. Baldacci and sponsors of a Journey Into Writing — a statewide writing contest for high school juniors — to announce Maine’s three “Young Writers of the Year” at a luncheon ceremony next Thursday, May 26th.

The event, which will run from 11:00 am to 1:00 pm , will be held at Maple Hill Farm Inn & Conference Center in Hallowell. The program is as follows:

11:00 - 11:30 a.m. Remarks by Gov. Baldacci and recognition of 13 Semi-finalists. Semi-finalists will each receive $100 and a plaque.

11:30 - 12:30 Lunch

12:30 - 1:00 Announcement of three winners by Gov. Baldacci and contest judges Stephen King, Tabitha King and Richard Russo. Each “Young Writer of the Year” will receive $2,500

 Note to media: Lunch may finish early. We suggest arriving at 12:15 . For a map and directions: 

The contest is run by the Maine Community College System (MCCS). MCCS President John Fitzsimmons and Maine Education Commissioner Susan Gendron will also give remarks at the event. Also attending are representatives from program sponsors: the Portland Press Herald/Maine Sunday Telegram,, Central Maine Power Company, and U.S. Cellular.

The semifinalists’ stories can be viewed on 20 Below, and the contest web site at and select Jouney into Writing from the quick links list. The names of the three winners and their stories will appear in the Maine Sunday Telegram on May 29 th.

The semifinalists are: Lucas Delahanty of Cape Elizabeth High School, Alanna Dick of Winthrop High School, Tyler Francke of Presque Isle High School, Matthew Gleason of Freeport High School, Isla Hansen of Lewiston High School, Kelly Hassapelis of Searsport District High School, Bethany Ingraham of Richmond High School, Amanda Osborne of Brewer High School, Juliana Partridge of Catherine McAuley High School, Matt Powers of North Yarmouth Academy, Margareta Roth of Thornton Academy, Erik Tasker of Deering High School, and Moira Yoe of North Yarmouth Academy.

The Journey Into Writing contest received 420 entries from 103 different high schools during the submission period, October 1 and December 1, 2004 . Submissions came from each of Maine ’s 16 counties. All high school juniors and home-schooled students of comparable age were eligible to submit entries of up to 1500 words, including short stories, essays or poems. The semifinalists were selected by a review committee from the Maine Community College System.

- end -