Skip navigation.

News Advisory

Governor, Distinguished Authors to Recognize Young Writers of the Year

Tuesday, May 25, 2006

CONTACTS: Alice Kirkpatrick at (207) 767-0116 x 3
(207) 767-0116 x 4;

AUGUSTA, Maine – Celebrated Maine authors Richard Russo, Linda Greenlaw, and Wesley McNair will join Governor John E. Baldacci and sponsors of a Journey Into Writing — a statewide writing contest for high school juniors — to announce Maine’s three "Young Writers of the Year" at a luncheon ceremony on Wednesday, May 31, 2006.

The event will run from 11:00 am to 1:00 pm and at Maple Hill Farm Inn & Conference Center in Hallowell. The program is as follows:

11:00 - 11:30 a.m. Remarks by Gov. Baldacci and recognition of 8 Semi-finalists. Semi-finalists will each receive $100 and a plaque.

11:30 - 12:30 Lunch

12:30 - 1:00 Announcement of three winners by Gov. Baldacci and contest judges Richard Russo, Linda Greenlaw, and Wesley McNair. Each “Young Writer of the Year” will receive $2,500

Note to media: We suggest arriving at 12:15. For a map and directions:

The contest is run by the Maine Community College System (MCCS). MCCS President John Fitzsimmons and Maine Education Commissioner Susan Gendron will also offer remarks at the event. Also attending are representatives from contest sponsors: the Portland Press Herald/Maine Sunday Telegram,, and U.S. Cellular.

The eight semifinalists are: Siobhan Anderson of Newcastle and North Yarmouth Academy; Emma Albright of South Freeport and Freeport High School; Cassandra Jensen of Lewiston and Lewiston High School; Lauren Landry of Lewiston High School; Lauren Rodrigue of Lewiston High School; Emily Shinay of Scarborough High School; Kinsey Tarbell of Cape Elizabeth High School; and Erin Watson of Limestone and the Maine School of Science and Mathematics.

The semifinalists’ entire stories can be viewed on 20 Below, and the contest Web site at The winning entries will appear in the Maine Sunday Telegram on June 4, 2006.

The Journey Into Writing contest received 214 entries from 74 different high schools during the submission period, October 1 and December 1, 2005. Submissions came from each of Maine ’s 16 counties. All high school juniors and home-schooled students of comparable age were eligible to submit entries of up to 1500 words, including short stories, essays or poems. The semifinalists were selected by a review committee from the Maine Community College System.

– end –