Skip navigation.

News Advisory

Maine Community College System Trustees to Meet at YCCC in Wells

Trustees to Consider Nomination of Charles M. Lyons for President of YCCC

Friday, August 4, 2006

CONTACTS: Helen Pelletier at (207) 767-0116 x 3

AUGUSTA, ME – A special meeting of the Maine Community College System (MCCS) Board of Trustees will be held Monday, August 7, at York County Community College in Wells. The meeting will begin at 4:30 p.m., and will be held in the college's cafeteria on the first floor.

At the meeting, the Board will consider MCCS President John Fitzsimmons' nomination of Charles M. Lyons to serve as president of York County Community College. A resident of Scarborough and former vice chancellor of the University of Maine System, Dr. Lyons has held leadership positions in higher education in Maine for nearly 25 years, most recently as president of the University of Maine at Augusta from 2001 until earlier this year. Dr. Lyons also served as president of the University of Maine at Fort Kent from 1996 until 2001.

A graduate of St. Francis Xavier University (B.A.), the University of Hartford (M.Ed.), and Boston University (Ed.D.), Dr. Lyons was selected from a field of 60 candidates following a national search. He succeeds former YCCC president Patricia Ryan who died in April after an extended illness.

Board to Elect New Chair and Vice Chair

At Monday's meeting, the Board is also expected to elect Dennis King of Freeport, chief executive officer of Spring Harbor Hospital in Westbrook, as chair of the MCCS Board of Trustees, and Daniel Wathen of Augusta, retired chief justice of the Maine Supreme Judicial Court and currently of counsel at Pierce Atwood, as vice chair. Also on the Board’s agenda is consideration of an updated pay-range scale for confidential employees of the MCCS and the approval of a number of new certificate and degree programs at Kennebec Valley Community College.


A photo of Dr. Lyons is available upon request. Please contact Helen Pelletier.

If special accommodations are needed to attend, please contact Ellyn Chase at (207) 629-4000 prior to the meeting.