Maine Community College Students Name to All-Maine Academic Team

April 2, 2024

AUGUSTA, ME – Nineteen Maine community college students have been named to the All-Maine Academic Team in recognition of their outstanding academic achievement, leadership, and service.

The students receiving the award and a $500 scholarship from the MCCS Board of Trustees, are:

Chelsey Chapman, Pittston, Central Maine Community College in Auburn.

  • Jonathan Gosselin, Topsham, Central Maine Community College.
  • Brianna Proctor, Wales, Central Maine Community College.
  • Mason Rogers, Kensington, NH, Central Maine Community College.
  • Katahdin Javner, Chester, Eastern Maine Community College in Bangor.
  • Elizabeth Sivret, Calais, Eastern Maine Community College.
  • Kiera Clark, Skowhegan, Kennebec Valley Community College in Fairfield/Hinckley.
  • Catalina Fernandez-Grant, Belfast, Kennebec Valley Community College.
  • Luz Maria Seda Libby, Palermo, Kennebec Valley Community College.
  • Crystal MacGown, Bath, Kennebec Valley Community College.
  • Lucas Castles, Gorham, Northern Maine Community College in Presque Isle.
  • Troy Hipsley, Houlton, Northern Maine Community College.
  • Jalen Lucas, Edinburgh, Trinidad & Tobago, Northern Maine Community College.
  • Islakeno Mahabir, Enterprise, Trinidad & Tobago, Northern Maine Community College.
  • Destiny Eppinger, Oxford, Southern Maine Community College in South Portland/Brunswick.
  • Fatimah Lamloom, Portland, Southern Maine Community College.
  • Brandon Marshall, Scarborough, Southern Maine Community College.
  • Kayla Taylor, Raymond, Washington County Community College in Calais.
  • Amanda Kenney, Wells, York County Community College, in Wells.

In addition, Catalina Fernandez-Grant (KVCC) and Elizabeth Sivret (EMCC) have been named Maine New Century Scholars for earning the highest scores in the state on their All-USA Academic Team applications.

Sivret has been named the 2024 Maine New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar and will receive a $2,250 scholarship.

Fernandez-Grant is the 2024 Maine New Century Workforce Pathway Scholar and will receive a $1,500 scholarship.

Katahdin Javner (EMCC) was one of only 50 students nationwide named a Coca-Cola Academic Team Gold Scholar and will receive a $1,500 scholarship.

The New Century Pathway Scholarship program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation, The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, the American Association of Community Colleges, and Phi Theta Kappa. Only one New Century Transfer and Workforce Scholar is selected from each state.

The All-Maine Academic Team is a program of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for two-year colleges. Students are nominated and selected for the team by their college.