MCCS Honors Students of the Year

April 24, 2024

MCCS Students of the Year (l to r) Maya Eichorn, YCCC; Crystal MacGown, KVCC; Andy Severson, CMCC; Bea Martin, SMCC; Jalen Lucas, NMCC; Katahdin Javner, EMCC; Kristin Crowley, WCCC.

AUGUSTA , ME — Seven Maine community college students were honored today for their academic success and campus and community involvement at a luncheon ceremony at Maple Hill Farm in Hallowell. The event was hosted by the Maine Community College System (MCCS) Board of Trustees.

The 2024 MCCS Student of the Year are:

  • Kristin Crowley, Portland, Washington County Community College.
  • Maya Eichorn, Kennebunk, York County Community College.
  • Katahdin Javner, Chester, Eastern Maine Community College.
  • Jalen Lucas, Edinburgh, Trinidad and Tobago, Northern Maine Community College.
  • Crystal MacGown, Bath, Kennebec Valley Community College.
  • Bea Martin, Portland Southern Maine Community College.
  • Andy Severson, Rockland, Central Maine Community College.

The seven students being honored were selected by faculty and staff at the colleges.

In addition to being recognized as Students of the Year, they each received a John and Jana Lapoint Leadership Award in the amount of $1,000.

Mr. Lapoint was president of UF Strainrite in Lewiston and a trustee of the Maine Community College System. After his death in 1995, his widow, Jana Lapoint, served on the Board from 1995 to 2006 and helped establish the fund for the annual awards.